Best New Fantasy: A Curse So Dark and Lonely 

Author: Brigid Kemmerer

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult

Goodreads Summary:

In a lush, contemporary fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast, Brigid Kemmerer gives readers another compulsively readable romance perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer.

Fall in love, break the curse. 

It once seemed so easy to Prince Rhen, the heir to Emberfall. Cursed by a powerful enchantress to repeat the autumn of his eighteenth year over and over, he knew he could be saved if a girl fell for him. But that was before he learned that at the end of each autumn, he would turn into a vicious beast hell-bent on destruction. That was before he destroyed his castle, his family, and every last shred of hope.

Nothing has ever been easy for Harper Lacy. With her father long gone, her mother dying, and her brother barely holding their family together while constantly underestimating her because of her cerebral palsy, she learned to be tough enough to survive. But when she tries to save someone else on the streets of Washington, DC, she’s instead somehow sucked into Rhen’s cursed world.

Break the curse, save the kingdom. 

A prince? A monster? A curse? Harper doesn’t know where she is or what to believe. But as she spends time with Rhen in this enchanted land, she begins to understand what’s at stake. And as Rhen realizes Harper is not just another girl to charm, his hope comes flooding back. But powerful forces are standing against Emberfall . . . and it will take more than a broken curse to save Harper, Rhen, and his people from utter ruin.

curse.jpg

Spoiler free Summary:

Oh. My. Gosh.

This was such an amazing book! It is a retelling of beauty and the beast and the author did an amazing job. It reminded me of A Court of Thorns and Roses, I would say if A Court of Thorns and Roses and A Court of Mist and Fury were one book, this is it!

Harper gets thrown into this amazing alternate universe and is thrust into the throws of this dying kingdom called Emberfall. Harper is such an amazing and dynamic character. She is the badass female that I love seeing in these types of YA novels. She wont take no for an answer and does whatever she wants. One thing I love that the author did is that she gave the main character a disability, but in no way does she let that effect her life. She has cerebral palsy, which in the case of this character gives her a noticeable limp. It is something that, in my reading experience, has not been done in a YA fantasy novel.

The world building also blew my mind. Brigid Kemmerer is spectacular at describing this universe so well that you can picture everything in your head. I need to see a map of this fantasy land immediately because of how much I have fallen in love with it.

This book is one of those books that has you turning each page until you have read the last word. Then once you finish, you just want more. It kept me on the edge of my seat the whole way, and the ending blew my mind!

If you have not ordered this book, you need to go do so immediately!

**This was an advanced readers copy I received to review**

From your local bibliophile, until next time!

Go check out my youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCGuiyKEx0JAOSZ9m6wfoGFg

Twitter: bookinstruments

Instagram: thebookinstruments

Personal Snap: mikaylakennaugh

Shiver

Shiver

Author: Maggie Stiefvater

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult

Goodreads Summary:

For years, Grace has watched the wolves in the woods behind her house. One yellow-eyed wolf—her wolf—is a chilling presence she can’t seem to live without.

Meanwhile, Sam has lived two lives: In winter, the frozen woods, the protection of the pack, and the silent company of a fearless girl. In summer, a few precious months of being human… until the cold makes him shift back again.

Now, Grace meets a yellow-eyed boy whose familiarity takes her breath away. It’s her wolf. It has to be. But as winter nears, Sam must fight to stay human—or risk losing himself, and Grace, forever.

shiver cover.jpg

Spoiler free Summary:

This book has been so hyped up for me over the years. I first heard about this when I was 14. I have heard mixed reviews, mainly good, but my sister read it and didn’t like it. Therefore I never read it, but recently I received it in my reddit book exchange, so I decided it was finally time to give it a go.

I think the idea that the author had for this book was very interesting and out of the box for the time that it was written in. I love how the characters had gotten to know each other on a deeper level for years before truly meeting. Though the beginning is so interesting, the rest of the book can get a bit muddled.

I think that the author was really onto something amazing, but she jus … ran out of ideas? It just seemed that there were about 100 pages of utter nonsense, I mean this in the nicest way, but I just felt that there was so much blubber added in just to make the book longer. I mean readers aren’t going to punish you for making a shorter book. I think it is better to have less pages of something awesome than more pages of something that will become sub par because you ran out of ideas.

Shiver was okay and I would suggest people to read it if they enjoy werewolf books. I have heard that the second is a lot better, so I am hoping that it will change my mind. This is a novel heard towards lovers of fantasy and love at first sight.

From your local bibliophile, until next time!

Go check out my youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCGuiyKEx0JAOSZ9m6wfoGFg

Twitter: bookinstruments

Instagram: thebookinstruments

Personal Snap: mikaylakennaugh